2022 – Anne O’Meara

On October 31, 2004, CPO lost a true friend and one of our founding Board members, Art Herkenhoff. Art was a hero in all the areas that truly matter: in Faith, family and pro-life involvement. Art had enormous courage in the face of opposition to proclaim the Truth of Jesus Christ and the Catholic Church, and he always exhibited true charity, humility and joy. Each year CPO receives many outstanding nominations for the Arthur A. Herkenhoff Award.

The Board of Directors chose to present the 2022 Arthur A. Herkenhoff Award to a remarkable woman, Anne O’Meara. Anne O’Meara left the corporate world, and a higher salary, to become the Executive Director for HALO, Healthcare Advocacy and Leadership Organization. HALO addresses a wide array of ethical issues including euthanasia, assisted suicide, rationing of medical services, and hastening of death in healthcare settings.  Anne has far surpassed all expectations, working well in excess of 40 hour weeks to ensure that every person who reaches out to HALO is served; regardless of the time of day or night such need arises including answering the HALO Helpline 24/7.

Anne O’Meara received the 17th Arthur A. Herkenhoff Award at the CPO annual Luncheon & Fundraiser held at the Southview Country Club in St. Paul on November 5, 2022.

Fr. Robert Altier presents Anne O’Meara the 2022 Arthur A. Herkenhoff Award.
Fr. Altier, Colleen Perfect, and Art Herkenhoff family and friends with Anne O’Meara and her son, Tommy

The CPO Board of Directors seeks the names of individuals who would be worthy of nomination for the 2023, 18th annual Arthur A. Herkenhoff Award. The persons nominated should exhibit the same qualities, principles and values which characterized the life and person of Art Herkenhoff: Faith, family, pro-life involvement, courage, charity and joy.

Please submit your nomination by October 1, 2023.

You may complete the Online Nomination Form or contact us at 651-705-5409 and we’ll be happy to mail you the form.

More on the Arthur A. Herkenhoff Award

Past Recipients